[Blog] Grief: One Year over Fifteen

For some weird planet alignment, I recently found a great blog (Sunny Sings the Blues) that deals with topics as grief, relationships and forgiveness. I am not a person that shares about any of these topics, but I think it will be a great tool for those of you looking for words ofuscomfort in an easy and joyful setting.

In my case, today is the 16th anniversary of my father passing. At that point I was one moth shy of turning 15 years old. Therefore, this year marks a year over the time we spent together.  I am sure, this is not the way he planned it, but it was the way it ended. Now, I do feel comfortable talking about it.

Some days it feels harder than others, but overall I now understand how important those 15 years were. I was daddy’s girl and still are after all these years after.  I have not had any contact with his side of the family since then, but my brother does.  So I know a little bit about them.

I will encourage you all to cherish the time you have with your family and understand that everything does not need to be perfect.  The most important part of life is to create memories that will last for years to come and will allow you to develop and grow as a person. Maybe today is the day to start new memories!

Leave a Reply

