[Blog] Summer Reading Stack

Since the month started I read many articles about creating great summer reading lists as well as other readers finished lists. Some of them contained tips on which books to pick, how many and how to allot your time; others just showed a number list. Many of those were between 30 and 50 books long. In my case, I cannot read that many books even if I wanted to. I do have a life outside this blog and my books.

I am fortunate enough to be able to divide my time between reality and La-La Land, plus the creative writing world. Therefore, I am going to shoot high with my list; even knowing that I may not even read a quarter of it. I will concentrate on the books I currently have or I am waiting for; everything else will stay for my Fall Readings.

I probably will revisit my unfinished books list as well to read couple of pages and see if any deserves a second chance. In the meantime, this is what I have so far (in no particular order):

Printed Books:

1. Loving Mr. Darcy: Journeys Beyond Pemberley by Sharon Lathan

2. Girl Mary by Petru Popescu

3. The Lunatic, the Lover and the Poet by Myrlin A. Hermes

4. Passarola Rising by Azhar Abini

5. Joshua’s Family by Joseph F. Girzone

6. The Mistress of Nothing by Kate Pullinger

7. The Sari Shop by Rupa Bajwa

8. Very Bad Men by Harry Dolan (ARC)

9. Jerusalem Maiden by Talia Carner (ARC)

10. The Little Women Letters by Gabrielle Donnelly (ARC)

11. What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty (ARC)

12. The Devil All the Time by Donald Ray Pollock (ARC)

E-Books:

13. Meant to Be by Tiffany King (5/31/2011: Review )

14. The Healer’s Apprentice by Melanie Dickerson (6/7/2011: Review)

15. The Watchers from within Moments Reveled by Mark Paul Jacobs (6/8/2011: Review)

16. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

17. The Help by Kathryn Stockett

18. Between Two Ends by David Ward [NetGalley] (7/5/2011: Review)

19. Blackberry Summer by RaeAnne Thayne [NetGalley]

Audio-Books:

20. The Island Beneath the Sea by Isabel Allende (6/13/2011: Review)

21. Cleopatra’s Daughter by Michelle Moran

22. The Paris Wife by Paula McLain

23. Heaven is for Real: A Little Boy’s Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back by Todd Burpo (6/27/2011: Review)

Everything is open to change and I am not counting in the books for the 2011 Reading Challenge: Puerto Rican Young Writers or the ones I hope to win during the Literary Blog Hop hosted by Leeswammes June 25-29.

Are you reading any of these books over the summer? Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

