[Blog] Summer Reading Finish Line

Hope you all had a great summer. We are back and running after a long and nice summer filled with reading and writing.  No better way to start the next season than taking care of the last couple of loose reads before we move to our Fall prospects.  I hoped to have read at least 6 books from my list and I was able to complete 8 and I have 3 in progress.  That is a great achievement since I am also working on a manuscript.

Below is my summer reading list (original post here) together with my updates. I am still missing various reviews, that will be available in the near future.

Printed Books: (NONE)

1. Loving Mr. Darcy: Journeys Beyond Pemberley by Sharon Lathan

2. Girl Mary by Petru Popescu

3. The Lunatic, the Lover and the Poet by Myrlin A. Hermes

4. Passarola Rising by Azhar Abini

5. Joshua’s Family by Joseph F. Girzone

6. The Mistress of Nothing by Kate Pullinger

7. The Sari Shop by Rupa Bajwa

8. Very Bad Men by Harry Dolan

9. Jerusalem Maiden by Talia Carner

10. The Little Women Letters by Gabrielle Donnelly

11. What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty

12. The Devil All the Time by Donald Ray Pollock

E-Books: (5 out of 8)

13. Meant to Be by Tiffany King (5/31/2011: Review )

14. The Healer’s Apprentice by Melanie Dickerson (6/7/2011: Review)

15. The Watchers from within Moments Reveled by Mark Paul Jacobs (6/8/2011: Review)

16. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

17. Between Two Ends by David Ward [NetGalley] (7/5/2011: Review)

18. Blackberry Summer by RaeAnne Thayne [NetGalley] (20% completed)

19. Forgotten Souls by Tiffany King (8/10/2011: Review)

20. An Apple for Zoe by Thomas Amo (60% completed)

Audio-Books: (4 out of 5)

21. The Island Beneath the Sea by Isabel Allende (6/13/2011: Review)

22. Cleopatra’s Daughter by Michelle Moran (09/16/2011: Review)

23. The Paris Wife by Paula McLain

24. Heaven is for Real: A Little Boy’s Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back by Todd Burpo (6/27/2011: Review)

25. The Help by Kathryn Stockett (8/25/2011: Review)

As you see, I did better with e-books and audiobooks.  Probably because I got a Kindle for my birthday Sonrisa and a new cellphone with various reading applications around the same time.  I still love my paper books, but they look so darn good on the book shelf that I did not feel inspired to move them from it.  I know, I need to read the printed word.

We will see how many of these books make the Fall reading list coming out this Friday!

Leave a Reply

