[Blog] The End: 2011 Challenges

During the beginning of the year I was introduced to different blog challenges. I started several, but I was not able to complete them as I wished. I did better in some areas than others and will look into the 2012 list of challenges. This time I will be more realistic with my goals as well as more perseverant.

I. Morning Pages

“Morning Pages are three pages of longhand, stream of consciousness writing, done first thing in the morning. There is no wrong way to do Morning Pages– they are not high art. They are about anything and everything that crosses your mind– and they are for your eyes only” (More information on the Artist’s Way).

  • I stopped less than two weeks into it. Most of the time I remembered about them by bedtime.

II. WordPress Post A Day

“Everyday, you can go to dailypost.wordpress.com for inspiration, encouragement and advice about blogging. We’ll be posting every day so you can get regular boosts of motivation to blog more often”

  • I posted everyday from Jan 10, 2011 until June 19, 2011 (five months). Then, I switched to post-a-week in a more random manner. Definitely, 2012 will be a Post-A-Week year.

III. 2011 Audio Book Challenge

There are four levels to the challenge, just peak your level and start listening to audio-books. (1) Curious-Listen to 3 Audio Books (2) Fascinated- Listen to 6 Audio Books (3) Addicted- Listen to 12 Audio Books (4) Obsessed- Listen to 20 or more Audio Books.

  • I selected the ‘Curious’ level for the challenge and I finished the year with three audiobooks completed.
      IV.

2011 E-Book Challenge

There are seven levels to the challenge, just peak your level and start reading e-books. (1)Curious – Read 3 e-books (2) Fascinated – Read 6 e-books (3) Addicted – Read 12 e-books (4) Obsessed – Read 20 e-books (5) Possessed – Read 50 e-books [6] Fanatical – Read 75 e-books (7) Monomaniacal – Read 100 e-books

  • For the E-book challenge I selected the ‘Curious’ level with 3 e-books. I was able to complete over six e-books.

V. The 2011 Caribbean Writer’s Challenge

This challenge was hosted by BaffledBooks and I selected to read three books by Caribbean Writers.

  • Since I was working with the Puerto Rican Young Writers challenge I completed five books; two more than my goal.

VI. 2011 Reading Challenge: Puerto Rican Young Writers

The 2011 Reading Challenge: Puerto Rican Young Writers is a book reading challenge created to spread Puerto Rican literature outside our 100 x 35 miles island.

  • When I started the challenge it looked more doable than now. Unfortunately, it was difficult to find first books written by young Puerto Rican writers. I did manage to read five out of twelve books for a 42%. I am planning to continue this challenge next year with several modifications.

I hope to select my 2012 challenges in the next couple of days. What about you?

Leave a Reply

